New Habitat out on November 6th

New Habitat, the fifth Gourmet album to date, will be released by Fiasko Records on November 6th, 2020. The album includes nine compositions written by the group leaders saxophonist Mikko Innanen and/or guitarist Esa Onttonen for the classic lineup with Ilmari Pohjola (trombone), Veli Kujala (accordion), Petri Keskitalo (tuba) and Mika Kallio (drums).

The opening track of the album, cinematic Jännitys rakkauden (The Thrill of Love), features soprano Mari Palo who also provides backing vocals for Kesän kukkia kaipaan (Summer Flowers, I Miss You), a 1970’s tinted pop tune with avantgarde twist. Two thirds of the album also contain major contribution by Sami Kontola, an expert of Brazilian percussion. His playing is most prominently featured on Nighttime Rag (for Hampi the Cat), a choro-style tune, and Busukas, a “forro turistico”.

More details such as tracklist, musician and other credits can be found on the Records page.

Gourmet plays the whole album at their only 2020 appearance at Tampere Jazz Happening festival on October 31st.

For promotional copies (digital / CD) and any other inquiries, please use the Contact form.